Sketchbook Project

Standard

Awhile ago, I became interested in the sketchbook project. I think there is a lot to it that I agree with philosophically, including the fact that once I submit the sketchbook, it will be put into a Brooklyn Library. This means that the work I create within the sketchbook will cease to be mine, and it becomes property of the world. It leads to this question of whether art should become public domain. At this point in my life, I kind of think it should. There is so much cross-referencing in any artistic endeavor, that I think it’s impossible to think that our work is our own. We creatively reshape the references for our works but I think art is a process of appropriation.

Yesterday, I bought the sketchbook. My theme: sleeplessness. How I will utilize this theme, I am uncertain. There are so many things that come to mind: anxiety, caffeine, late-night discussions, partying, insomnia, nightmares, longing, passionate sex. There’s also a sense that sleeplessness is a metaphor for something else. Restlessness can relate to the occult: zombies, ghosts, sleep as a metaphor for death. Sleep can relate to ignorance. Who knows what I’ll come up with. The goal is to transform the torment into something elegant and ecstatic. I have two ideas for sketches already (one is using the image I created above. I have an idea of how I want to set up the layout. This is an awesome idea.

On a personal note, yesterday was emotional. Good. But emotional. I think in time I will talk more about both. At this point, it’s all retrospection.

Leave a Reply

