Bears, Beets, Battlestar Galactica

Standard

Just as a side note, I would rather be mauled by a bear than be stung by an Asian Giant Hornet. Granted, the latter would most definitely kill me but even if I was not allergic to bee stings, I would still prefer the mauling.

I have a clear sense of what kind of work I will be doing in the next month. Mostly the organization of files. It’s good work to fill up hours and if I don’t do it, someone else will.  It’s weird to think that in a month and a half, I will be on the East Coast. I think the first month will be nice, simply finding a job, getting used to the city and spending the last half of the month with the boy. It’s also weird that I am whittling down my life by a lot, trying to get rid of all the stuff I’ve accumulated in the past 4 years that in reality I don’t need. I still feel like three boxes of books is too much to ship out to Boston?

But, I spent a lot of time last night looking at a whole slew of art blogs for potential sources of cross-referencing. That’s probably the most useful — Let’s be honest,the only — skill that I learned from Concepts of Visual Art. I am beginning to formulate a clear narrative for my sketchbook, one that’s really absurd but one that I think I’m going to really enjoy. I am not completely sure on the narrative yet, but I want to do something similar to a children’s book. Narrative, layout, theme. I’m either really creative, really quickly, or I have OCD when it comes to art.

I entered the City pages contest. I am nervous because while I think I would do well painting and I have definitely done well doing it in the past, it seems like something geared towards people who can proficiently paint. Regardless, I am excited at the prospect. The worst that could happen is that they tell me no.

Leave a Reply

